NE Quadrant, Federal Government Employees, Genre, Journalists, Showbiz, Spies, Veterans

Murray Leinster
(June 16, 1896 – June 8, 1975)

639 8th Street NE, Atlas District neighborhood, DC.

Murray Leinster was a nom de plume of William Fitzgerald Jenkins, an award-winning American writer of science fiction and alternate history. He wrote and published more than 1,500 short stories and articles, 14 movie scripts, and hundreds of radio scripts and television plays.

His stories appeared in H. L. Mencken's literary magazine The Smart Set, Collier's Weekly, Esquire, Galaxy Magazine and The Saturday Evening Post. He won a Liberty Award in 1937 and a Hugo Award in 1956.

His books included War With the Gizmos (1958), Monsters and Such (1959), Four From Planet 5 (1964), The Other Side Of Nowhere (1964), SOS From Three Worlds (1966), The Wailing Asteroid (1966), Super-Medic for Interstellar Catastrophes (1967), Space Gypsies (1967), and The Pirates of Zan (1971). He also wrote tie-in novelizations of television shows including The Time Tunnel (1967); and three based on Land of the Giants (1968–69).

During World War I, Leinster served with the Committee of Public Information and the United States Army. During World War II, he worked in the Office of War Information.