Frequently Asked QuestionsThe TourCategoriesMapAbout Us

Welcome to the DC Writers' Homes Website!

Enormous Update for 2015!

In our (seemingly endless) search to document writers from all historical eras of Washington, DC's eminent history, our latest installment is our largest to date. This update brings our total number of writers to 272 with the inclusion of 69 new entries!

Some of our favorite new finds include: US Poet Laureate Louise Bogan; one of the most important modern poets of Cuba, Mariano Brull; jazz legend Duke Ellington; feminist icon Betty Friendan; the "First Woman of American Theater" Helen Hayes; influential Black Arts Movement poet Gaston Neal; first lady Eleanor Roosevelt; and early feminist educator Emma Willard.

We've expanded our list of foreign diplomat/writers with this update, including: Andrei Gromyko (Soviet Union), Jean Jules Jusserand (France), Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit (India), Carlos Peña Rómulo (Philippines), Tcheng Yu-Hsui (China), and Rafael Heliodoro Valle (Honduras), among others.

We also document more recent losses to the DC literary community, including: Jean C. Bower, Ben Bradlee, Peter Brown, Nora Ephron, Siv Cedering Fox, David Kresh, Elaine Magarrell, Tim Russert, Herman Taube, and Daoma Winston.

You can explore three new neighborhoods in depth: Cleveland Park, Sheridan/Kalorama and Woodley Park; as well as a new category for Asian/Pacific Islander writers. Our other new categories are: Children’s Literature, Genre Fiction (Mystery/Crime, Romance, and Science Fiction/Fantasy), Historians, Lawyers, Musicians, writers with a Religious vocation, Society Hostesses and Veterans.

Probably our biggest addition, and one we hope will enrich this site immensely, is our notation of architecturally significant homes. Where appropriate, we list architect, year completed, and give a brief description of what makes this residence distinctive.

To keep informed visit our facebook page.

If you know of any other writers homes not included here please contact us.

Last updated November 20, 2014.