Frequently Asked QuestionsThe TourCategoriesMapAbout Us
U.S. Poets Laureate

In this list, we include the homes of Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress
organized by the dates of the terms in office. A number of these writers served two separate terms.

1937–1941: Joseph Auslander
1945–1946: Louise Bogan
1947–1948: Robert Lowell
1949–1950: Elizabeth Bishop
1950–1952: Conrad Aiken
1956–1958: Randall Jarrell
1959–1961: Richard Eberhart
1961–1963: Louis Untermeyer
1963–1964: Howard Nemerov

1964–1965: Reed Whittemore
1965–1966: Stephen Spender
1974–1976: Stanley Kunitz
1978–1980: William Meredith
1982–1984: Anthony Hecht
1984–1985: Reed Whittemore
1988–1990: Howard Nemerov
2000–2001: Stanley Kunitz